The grandchild is eligible to receive a certified copy of the death certificate if all of the following criteria are met:

  • The grandchild must be at least 18 years of age. If less than 18 years of age, provide proof of emancipation, according to A.R.S. Title 12, chapter 15, or proof of marriage (i.e. a certified court order that documents the individual has been emancipated or a marriage certificate that proves the person is married).
  • The grandchild shall submit a copy of his/her birth certificate which names the deceased individual's child as the parent of the applicant.
  • The grandchild shall submit a copy of his/her parent's birth/death certificate that links the grandchild to the deceased individual. If applicable, a copy of a court order of adoption or certificate of adoption, certified by the issuing court for the deceased individual or the deceased individual's grandchild, etc. that shows the relationship to the deceased individual.
  • If the births/deaths occurred in Arizona, a search can be completed in the applicable electronic registry system to verify the required information.
  • The grandchild submits a signed application.
  • The grandchild provides valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  • The grandchild submits the appropriate fee(s).

Show All Answers

1. Funeral Director or Funeral Director’s Designee
2. Spouse
3. Parents
4. Grandparent
5. Adult Child
6. Grandchild
7. Brother or Sister
8. A Person Designated in a Power of Attorney
9. A Person Responsible for Final Disposition (Other than a Funeral Director)
10. A Person Named as the Executor or Beneficiary of the Deceased Individual's Estate
11. A Beneficiary of the Deceased Individual's Life Insurance Policy
12. A Person Named in a Court Order
13. A Person Authorized by an Eligible Person
14. An Insurance Company/Financial Institution
15. A Hospital or Healthcare Institution
16. A Person with a Court Order Having a Claim Against the Deceased Individual's Estate
17. An Attorney Representing a Person Eligible to Receive a Certified Copy
18. Consulate of a Foreign Government Request
19. Government Agency Request
20. Noncertified Copy: Genealogical Research
21. Noncertified Copy: Government Agency Request